Breakfast / Brunch egg cups

When I was little, my father was betting me that I’ll get bored of eggs, and I was telling him: no way daaad, you’ll see! Needless to say I WON!

I l-o-v-e eggs. I could eat them every day. I like them for breakfast, I like them for lunch, I like them for dinner. Scrambled, fried, boiled, doesn’t matter. Except from raw. I don’t like them raw. A girl needs her limits.

I also liked them prepared this way 😀 :

How could I not???

These egg cups have only a few ingredients, but they combine like a charm! And they make a lovely breakfast or brunch treat. Plus, they’re so simple to make! Believe me!

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (390ºF). If you’re using frozen spinach (as I did), thaw and drain it. Chop the cherry tomatoes, Frankfurt sausages, and feta cheese.

Put the eggs and egg whites in a bowl and season with salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of dry herb mix (the mix I used contained oregano, thyme and rosemary). Beat them.

Add the tomatoes, sausages, feta cheese, and spinach in the eggs. Mix well to distribute the spinach.

Fill your muffin tins with the egg mixture, but only ¾ full because they will rise in the oven!

Sprinkle some grated cheese of your choice on top of each cup. I used a Greek, super delicious cheese called Kefalotyri. Oooohh, the advantages of visiting our country :D.

Cook for 35min at 200ºC (390ºF), or until the top is brownish and the cups are not shaking when moved.

Last, but most important step: Enjoy!!

Have a nice day!

INGREDIENTS

Inspiration (and another delicious version) came from the always amazing Chocolate & Carrots

Makes 5 egg cups

2 eggs

3 egg whites

50g feta cheese

50g cherry tomatoes

50g Frankfurt sausages

100g frozen spinach

1 tsp dry herb mix (e.g. oregano-thyme-rosemary)

Salt and pepper

Some grated cheese for sprinkling on top

QUICK INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (390ºF). Thaw and drain the spinach. Chop the cherry tomatoes, Frankfurt sausages, and feta cheese. Put the eggs and egg whites in a bowl and season with salt, pepper, and a teaspoon of dry herb mix. Beat. Add the tomatoes, sausages, feta cheese, and spinach in the eggs. Mix, and fill muffin tins ¾ full. Sprinkle some grated cheese of your choice on top of each cup. Cook for 35min at 200ºC (390ºF), or until the top is brownish and the cups are not shaking when moved.

Extra tip: To get rid of the egg smell that stays on plates, tins, glasses, etc., sprinkle some vinegar on them.

8 thoughts on “Breakfast / Brunch egg cups

Leave a Reply

