Tuna Empanada with Caramelized Onions and Peppers

Happy 2013!

I hope you had great holidays, relaxing and full of amazing food! I know I did!

Since this is my first post since (what seems like) ages, I decided to stick to something rather simple, but very delicious: Empanada with tuna and a mix of caramelized onions and three-color peppers!

Empanada3

I used commercially available dough, special for empanadas (very similar to brisee, in my opinion). I definitely believe that if you can find good quality ready dough, it’s not a bad thing to use it! So, no, I’m not ashamed 🙂 .

Let’s go and make it then!

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (390ºF).

Slice the onions and peppers and place them in a frying pan with some olive oil. Add some salt and let them slowly caramelize, stirring from time to time. Make sure you keep the temperature medium to low.

Empanada8

When the onions and the peppers are caramelized, remove from heat and mix in the tuna.

Empanada7

Place one piece of dough on parchment paper on an oven tray. Add the filling in the middle and spread around. Leave some empty space on the periphery where the dough will be sealed.

Brush beaten egg on the periphery.

Empanada9

Put the second piece of dough on top and seal well the periphery with your fingers or a fork. Brush beaten egg all around the empanada. With the tip of the knife make a few holes that will allow the hot air to come out.

Empanada10

Put it in the oven (middle level) and bake until it has a pretty golden brown color, around 20-30min. Check also the instructions of the dough manufacturer.

Empanada6

Isn’t this just beautiful? It smells fantastic!

Empanada5

You don’t need to let this cool down before you eat it. Actually you shouldn’t. Trust me.

Empanada1

You can enjoy this as an appetizer, or simply eat 4 pieces as a main dish. 🙂

The caramelization of the onions and the peppers really makes a difference here!

Empanada4

Have a nice day and a great year!

Ingredients

(Seen and adapted from an episode of “Jose made in Spain” of the great chef Jose Andres)

4 onions

3 peppers (red, green, yellow) (or whatever combo of colors you prefer)

A bit of olive oil (around a tbs per onion)

50g (two small cans) of canned tuna (drained)

2 pieces of crust for empanadas

Salt

1 egg, beaten

Quick Instructions

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (390ºF). Slice the onions and peppers and place them in a frying pan with some olive oil. Add some salt and let them slowly caramelize, stirring from time to time. Make sure you keep the temperature medium to low. When the onions and the peppers are caramelized, remove from heat and mix in the tuna.

Place one piece of dough on parchment paper on an oven tray. Add the filling in the middle and spread around. Leave some empty space on the periphery where the dough will be sealed. Brush beaten egg on the periphery.

Put the second piece of dough on top and seal well the periphery with your fingers or a fork. Brush beaten egg all around the empanada. With the tip of the knife make a few holes that will allow the hot air to come out.

Put it in the oven (middle level) and bake until it has a pretty golden brown color, around 20-30min. Check also the instructions of the dough manufacturer.

P.S: I have received 2 blog nominations from the amazing Johnny, and I want to thank him! But I will write a separate post addressing them!

17 thoughts on “Tuna Empanada with Caramelized Onions and Peppers

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    Looks amazing. Don’t think I’ve ever had empanada, and I don’t know what brisee is. I certainly wouldn’t feel guilty about buying shop-bought dough. I’ve got a pack of puff pastry in the fridge waiting to be used, hopefully Tue.
    Ahem, 5! Ouch! Well, I only nominate those that I think deserve them. Glad you’re back!

    Reply
  2. tanja@the green mixer

    Καλή χρονια και σε σένα!!!!!! Τέλεια η empanada, ελαφριά, γρήγορη και έυκολη (τώρα βέβαια ετοιμο φύλλο εδώ δεν ξερω τι θα ταίριαζε)

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Καλή χρονιά Τάνια! Έτοιμο φύλλο brisee, μοιάζει λίγο με το κουρού, η γενικά το δικό μας φύλλο της πίτας..

      Reply
  3. ΕΛΕΝΑ

    Kαλή χρονιά!
    Με υγεία και αγάπη και κάθε χαρά στο σπιτικό σου!
    Η πίτα σου λαχταριστή και το φύλλο θυμίζει πολύ κουρού!
    Φιλιά, καλή βδομάδα!

    Reply
  4. Alison

    I love this! I often have a can of tuna in my cupboard for random occasions where I need some quick protein, and this recipe would be a perfect use of that! I’m definitely pinning this for later. 🙂

    Reply
  5. laurasmess

    Oh yum! This empanada looks incredible! I haven’t seen a pie-sized empanada before, but it makes perfect sense when thinking about saving time and feeding a crowd 🙂 One of my best friends is Argentinean and her mother makes empanadas all the time… I think she’d love to know where to buy special empanada pastry! Thanks for sharing your gorgeous dish. Love your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

