Green Bean Salad {Thai-Inspired}

I attended recently a Thai-cuisine course and, even though I left agitated due to the (pointless and annoying) efforts of the teacher to brainwash me with how awesome cilantro is (eew!), I did get the chance to taste a delicious salad.

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad1

The title says “Thai-inspired” because there were ingredients in the original recipe that I skipped in this one. Either because I didn’t have them at hand or because I felt I’ll like it more without them. Also, the onions were fried crunchy, but I opted for simply caramelizing them.

But no worries! I will give you the full recipe at the end of the post, mentioning the ingredients I didn’t use.

Start by caramelizing the onions, because this is the part that takes longer. I have shown two more times how I do this, so you can go here and take a look!

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad2

In the meantime, wash the green beans, cut the tips, slice them into thin strips and then diagonally.

(I am pretty sure they will taste the same if you slice them as you wish, but I’m telling you how I did it. You need to end up with small pieces though.)

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad3

Put the beans to boil for 6-8 minutes. They should remain quite crunchy, it really gives a different taste and feeling to the salad! Take them out of the water when they are ready, and wash them with some cold water. It will stop the further softening.

Put the shredded coconut in a non-stick pan and let it toast, mixing several times to avoid burning it.

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad4

Prepare the dressing in a bowl, and you are ready to assemble the salad!

Put the beans in a large bowl.

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad5

Drizzle with the dressing. Mix well.

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad6

Sprinkle the toasted coconut.

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad7

Top with the caramelized onions. Done!

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad8

There you have a delicious, healthy, filling salad that you can have as main course (I did!) or as a side!

Thai-Inspired Green Bean Salad9

I have to tell you that the next day I added tuna to the leftover salad and I still loved it!

Have a nice day!

Ingredients

Serves 2-3 people (or more if used as a side)

500g green beans

3 medium-large onions (I used the Figueras ones, naturally sweet, very tasty)

3 tbsps olive oil (for caramelizing the onions)

Around ⅓ cup shredded coconut

For the dressing

Juice of 1 lemon (or lime)

1 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsps soy sauce

1 clove of garlic, finely chopped (I didn’t include it)

1 chilli pepper, no seeds, finely chopped (I didn’t include it)

1-2 tbsps Nam Pla (fish sauce) (I didn’t include it)

Quick Instructions

Start by caramelizing the onions. You can go here and take a look.

Note: The original recipe calls for slowly frying the onions in a lot of vegetable oil (at 170ºC, 340ºF), for around 30min until they get brown. Then place them on absorbent paper and let them cool. They will get crunchy while cooling.

In the meantime, wash the green beans, cut the tips, slice them into thin strips and then diagonally. Boil for 6-8 minutes. They should remain quite crunchy. Take them out of the hot water when they are ready, and wash them with some cold water. It will stop the further softening.

Put the shredded coconut in a non-stick pan and let it toast, mixing several times to avoid burning it.

Prepare the dressing by mixing all the ingredients in a bowl. Make sure the sugar has melted before you pour it on the salad.

Put the beans in a large bowl and add the dressing. Mix well. Sprinkle the toasted coconut and top with the caramelized onions.

16 thoughts on “Green Bean Salad {Thai-Inspired}

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    Sounds fab! You know my posts by now where most of my recipes include caramelised onions. I’m sure to love this (like you leaving out certain ingredients).
    Not to be a pedant, but aren’t those runner beans? I could use up some of my green beans instead.

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Hmm, when I google runner beans the results are quite similar to green beans.. Good that I have the photo.. Sorry I can’t be more precise. Anyway, it tasted great 🙂

      Reply
  2. ChgoJohn

    This really does sound good. Your addition of tuna helped it to go from salad to main course, the perfect lunch. I so agree with you. Cilantro? Ew! I never tasted it when I was young and I just do not like it now, as an adult, no matter how many times I’ve tried it. I usually use parsley instead and the result is just fine. 🙂

    Reply
  3. tanja@the green mixer

    Αυτός ο κόλιανδρός έχει φανατικούς που τον αγαπανε και που τον μισούν. Πολύ ωραία η σαλατούλα, με παραξενεύει λίγο η προσθήκη της καρύδας σε αλμυρό, αλλά φανταζομαι θα δένει με τα υπόλοιπα υλικά

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Δένει πολύ ωραία, γιατί και η καρύδα δεν είναι γλυκιά. Και όταν ψήνεται έχει πολύ ιδιαίτερη γεύση!

      Reply
      1. tanja@the green mixer

        Πρέπει να ψάξω να βρώ αυτή την χοντροτριμμένη καρύδα, γιατι εδώ πουλάνε την σκόνη και δεν ξέρω αν κάνει για τέτοια χρήση.

  4. Penelope

    Εξαιρετικά ενδιαφέρουσα η προσθήκη της ψητής καρύδας Villy!!!
    Πρέπει να την δοκιμάσω, ενδεχομένως και με άλλη πράσινη σαλάτα (πέρα από τα φασολάκια εννοώ).
    Καλό απόγευμα εύχομαι.

    Reply
  5. Helen Gr

    Διάβασα με πολύ ενδιαφέρον τα υλικά, Villy, αυτής της προτεινόμενης σαλάτας σου και τα βρήκα εξαιρετικά. Μου αρέσει πολύ η κουζίνα με Ασιατικές επιδράσεις. Λέω να τη δοκιμάσω προσεχώς, αλλά με τα μικρά φασολάκια,
    Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ.
    Καλό σου βράδυ.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

