Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cake

I have baked and cooked several things recently (thank you long weekend!), but I decided to post this cake because of sentimental reasons:

First thing I prepared using my brand new Kenwood stand mixer!

The combination of blueberries with cream cheese is really fantastic, and each bite is filled with both!

Start by preheating the oven to 375ºF (190ºc) and buttering+flouring (or lining with parchment paper) an 8-inch (20cm) cake pan.

Unfortunately I had to use a larger one (25cm) and this greatly affected the final thickness of the cake. Next time I will use 1½ or 2 doses of this recipe for my large pan to get it as thick as it should be.

So use an 8-inch if you have one, or increase the dose!

Beat the butter with the sugar.

Add the egg and beat.

Add half of the (already mixed with the baking powder and salt) flour. Then half of the milk. Then again half of the flour and then the rest of the milk. Finish by adding the remaining flour.

Beat until combined. Use a spatula to clean the walls of the bowl (regardless of what you see in the above photo, I did it!).

Cover the blueberries with flour.

Prepare the topping by mixing the flour with the sugar and crumbling the cold butter in. I found it easier done with my hands.

Using a spatula, mix the blueberries and the cream cheese (cut in cubes) in the cake batter. Put batter in the cake form.

Sprinkle the topping evenly around.

Bake for around 40min. Check with a wooden skewer inserted in the center to be sure it’s done (it should come out clean).

And there you have it! All fruity and cheesy and all kinds of delicious!

Even if it wasn’t as thick as I would like it to be, still it was exactly what I wanted!

Next time I’ll make 10 doses and bake a giant of awesomeness… You’ll see.

Have a nice day!

Ingredients

(Recipe from the always inspiring “Confessions of a Cookbook Queen”)

60g salted butter, room temperature

130g sugar

1 egg

100g + 12g all-purpose flour (12g for tossing the blueberries)

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

120ml milk

1 cup fresh blueberries (I used fresh, you can use frozen without thawing them)

90g cream cheese, cold and cut into cubes

For the topping

25g all-purpose flour

50g sugar

30g cold salted butter

Quick Instructions

Preheat the oven to 375ºF (190ºc) and butter+flour (or line with parchment paper) an 8-inch (20cm) cake pan. Beat the butter with the sugar.

Add the egg and beat. Add half of the (already mixed with the baking powder and salt) flour. Then half of the milk. Then again half of the flour and then the rest of the milk. Finish by adding the remaining flour. Beat until combined.

Cover the blueberries with flour. Prepare the topping by mixing the flour with the sugar and crumbling the cold butter in. I found it easier done with my hands. Using a spatula, mix the blueberries and the cream cheese (cut in cubes) in the cake batter. Put batter in the cake form. Sprinkle the topping evenly around.

Bake for around 40min. Check with a wooden skewer inserted in the center to be sure it’s done (it should come out clean).

29 thoughts on “Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cake

  1. johnnysenough hepburn

    Wow, a proper cheesecake without a naff ‘crushed digestive biscuit’ base! Off course, I wouldn’t expect that type of thing off you. This sounds heavenly. Thinking this might be possible to do without a posh Kenwood, as I don’t have one. Nothing wrong with a bit of exercise, I suppose. And, blueberries…one of my favourites. Getting me in the mood for Autumn treats!

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      It’s not really a cheese cake.. Not creamy or anything. More of a cake with some cheese inside! 🙂 I love digestive cookies by the way but my favorite cheesecake is a no- bake one! 🙂

      Reply
      1. tanja@the green mixer

        Χα! Δεν σε φοβάμαι, θα τα βάλεις σε μια σειρά (ή θα σταματήσεις όταν θα έχετε σκάσει στο φαγητό/γλυκό)

  2. Ερμιόνη

    Καλορίζικο το καινούριο μίξερ! Χε χε κι εγώ τρελαίνομαι όταν αποκτώ κάτι καινούριο-μαγειρικό!
    Τι ωραία χρώματα και γεύσεις έχει το κέικ σου! Να δω βέβαια που θα βρω blueberries εδώ στην Ελλάδα… 😦 Οτιδήποτε τελειώνει σε -berries μου φαίνεται πολύ δυσεύρετο (με εξαίρεση τις φράουλες)!
    Φιλιά!

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Δεν είμαι και σίγουρη, αλλά σε μεγάλα σούπερ μάρκετ μάλλον θα βρεις. Εδώ τα έχουν σε κουτάκια στα ψυγεία. Ευχαριστώ Ερμιόνη και καλό απόγευμα!

      Reply
  3. Penelope

    Καλό δούλευτο το νέο μιξεράκι Villy μου, και με πολλές μαγειρικές επιτυχίες!!
    Τι τέλειο χρώμα δίνουν αυτά τα έρμα τα bluberries, τα ζηλεύω αφάνταστα όπου τα βλέπω :-))

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Ναι είδες? Και δεν είναι μόνο το χρώμα, είναι και η απαλή ξινίλα τους που τα κάνει νόστιμα, ειδικά σε κέικ!

      Reply
  4. Jasline

    Congratulations on your Kenwood mixer! I still haven’t gotten mine yet… The cheesecake looks really good, bubbling with blueberry goodness 😀 Yum!

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Thanks Jasline! It was about time actually, I was fed up with the hand mixer and the exploding butter and sugar everywhere in the kitchen! 🙂

      Reply
      1. Jasline

        Oh my hand mixer has this problem too! Hmmm I think it’s time I need to have a talk with my sponsor (my boyfriend) haha! Have a great week ahead! 😀

  5. ΕΛΕΝΑ

    Nα το χαρείς το καινούριο σου μίξερ και να φτιάξεις πολλές πολλές λιχουδιές, σαν το λαχταριστό γλυκάκι σου, που δείχνει σούπερ γιάμι!!!!
    Φιλιά!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

