Soutzoukakia {Meatballs with Cumin, in Tomato Sauce}

Usually, I’m posting recipes from a back-up.

I simply do not have the required time to cook or bake every day. My real job is happening. And then, my 3-4h of eat-clean-rest-sleep are happening.

Anywayyyy, the thing is: Today I’m posting live! Like, I’m actually writing this before the final photos are shot! The food is cooked in the pot, steaming, waiting to be devoured by a satisfied couple. 🙂

And what did I cook? Soutzoukakia! AKA beef meatballs with generous amount of cumin, served in tomato sauce. The recipe varies a bit from the hard-core traditional you can find in the web, but that’s the variation my mother taught me. And we like it!

So, the photo will go here:

Take my word for it: Delicious!

When my mother prepares soutzoukakia, she always cooks them in the oven, with potatoes around, and, of course, tomato sauce and olive oil. This way you get a crunchy top on the meatballs that is incredible!

However, since I’m cooking after work and the oven version takes longer (at least in my oven..), I preferred to cook them in the pot. This way they are softer all around, plus you get plenty of tomato sauce to serve on top of plain white rice.

Start by preparing the minced meat mix. You can use only beef or beef/pork combination, as I did.

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well until you get a homogeneous mixture. I always do this with my hand.

Shape the (almost) cylindrical meatballs.

Cover with flour and fry them for a few minutes from each side.

In a pot, add a bit of olive oil and cook the onion just until soft. Add the tomato sauce (or fresh tomato puree and some tomato paste) and simmer.

Transfer the meatballs in the pot (without the fried oil of course).

Add some water to cover them. Season with salt, pepper and some more cumin. Bring to boil, reduce the heat, and let simmer until the sauce thickens.

You may want to taste it at some point, when most of the water is reduced, and adjust the seasoning.

In the end it looks like this:

The photo does not do justice to the dish, simply because you cannot smell the fantastic cumin!

I’m serving this with plain white rice, just because it goes great with the tasty tomato sauce. But you can serve it with fried potatoes, mashed potatoes or even spaghetti.

And don’t forget the bread. If you listen carefully you can hear the sauce screaming: Dip the bread! 🙂

Have a nice day!

INGREDIENTS

Makes 10 meatballs

For the meatballs

400g pork/beef ground meat

1 large onion

1 clove of garlic

1 egg

4 handfuls of breadcrumbs

Drizzle of vinegar

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

Pepper

For the tomato sauce

350g tomato sauce (or fresh tomato puree plus tomato paste)

1 onion

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt and Pepper and Cumin

QUICK INSTRUCTIONS

To prepare the ground meat mix, combine all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well until homogeneous. I always do this with my hand. Shape the cylindrical meatballs.

Cover with flour and fry for a few minutes from each side.

In a pot, add a bit of olive oil and cook the onion just until soft. Add the tomato sauce (or fresh tomato puree and some tomato paste) and simmer. Transfer the meatballs in the pot (without the fried oil of course). Add some water to cover them.

Season with salt, pepper and some more cumin. Bring to boil, reduce the heat, and let simmer until the sauce thickens. Taste it at some point, when most of the water is reduced, and adjust the seasoning.

Serve with rice or fried potatoes or mashed potatoes.

30 thoughts on “Soutzoukakia {Meatballs with Cumin, in Tomato Sauce}

    1. Villy Post author

      I used powder. I have never tried roasting seeds. I only used them whole a few times I was out of powder.. Would the roasting and grinding be different than the ready powder? And thanks!

      Reply
      1. johnnysenough hepburn

        I’m not sure as I’ve never used powdered. Would’ve thought the manufacturers would roast and grind. For me, as I rarely use cumin, I prefer the freshness of roasted and ground. Powders do go stale. Besides, I just love the smell!

    1. Villy Post author

      Thank you Sibella! We also have meatballs without cumin, but then we add mint or parsley and then it becomes another type. 🙂

      Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Εθιστικό δεν λες τίποτα! Λατρεμένο και με ταξιδεύει πίσω στην Ελλαδίτσα όποτε το μαγειρεύω! Ευχαριστώ Ερμιόνη!

      Reply
  1. ΕΛΕΝΑ

    Ααααχχχ, δεν έχω καλύτερο λατρεμένο φαγάκι!
    Με μπόλικο κύμινο και σκορδάκι, είναι το απόλυτα νόστιμο πιάτο!
    Να σου πω την αλήθεια εγώ τα τελευταία χρόνια τα κάνω στον φούρνο,στην γάστρα, κυρίως λόγω της τεμπελιάς μου χα χα χαα!
    Αλλά και στην κατσαρόλα γίνονται ζουμερά και πεντανόστιμα!
    Φιλιά!

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Έχει άλλη γλύκα στο φούρνο, είναι αλήθεια. Έχε χαρη που ήταν αργά και πεινούσαμε! Βέβαια και έτσι γίνονται τρομερά αφράτα! 🙂

      Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Ε τι να κάνουμε! Αλλά μια χαρά τα βγάζουμε πέρα τελικά! Ευχαριστώ πολύ!

      Reply
  2. Foivi Geller

    Αχ και είμαι σε δίαιτα…………. λες να τα φτιάξω την Κυριακή;;; Τέλεια και αγαπημένα σουτζουκάκια!

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      Εεεε, και να φας μια φορά σουτζουκάκια δεν τρέχει και τίποτα! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Jasline

    I love meatballs! Yours look absolutely delicious! I’m planning to make them next weekend and bake them with tomatoes sauce and lots of cheeses… hope they would turn out as delicious as yours!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Keftedakia {Round Fried Meatballs} + Homemade Cheese | For the Love of Feeding

Leave a Reply

