Brussels Sprouts with Raisins

On the 15th of April is our Easter, so next week we’re going to Greece to be with our families! Yayyyy! Excitement is kicking in! πŸ˜€

Plus, fasting will be over and I’ll be able to stuff myself with eggs and cheese! Because, yes, I love meat and I’ve missed it, but not nearly as much as eggs and cheese…

Now, one dish that didn’t contain meat/cheese/eggs/cream, and I enjoyed recently was this:

I really like Brussels sprouts, and this combination of ingredients was a rather pleasant surprise! The sweetness of the raisins was complementing the particular flavor of the sprouts very nicely!

Let’s proceed to the fast and easy preparation!

If you use fresh sprouts: wash them, cut a small part of the stem, remove the outer leaves if needed, and slice them in half.

If you use frozen sprouts (as I did, cause sadly they were out of fresh): no need to thaw them.

Chop the shallots and prepare the raisins.

Add some olive oil in a pan and stir the sprouts in. Let them fry, stirring occasionally, until they get brownish spots and are soft. Season with salt and pepper.

Add the chopped shallots and raisins. Let cook until the shallots are soft.

Note: I had some small potatoes, already boiled, and I decided to use them. I added them when the shallots were soft, to avoid overcooking and smashing them. But this is totally optional! (Although I reaaaaaally liked the addition πŸ™‚ )

Pour the vegetable broth, stir, and let simmer.

Wait until the broth is completely reduced.

Aaand: Ta dah! πŸ™‚

A delicious (and quite healthy I want to believe) dish that can be served as a main course or as a side dish!

Realization: Some things (luckily not many) will never make it to my husband’s “love-to-eat” list. He opted for a fresh, filling salad instead:

I’ll admit it. It was fantastic.. πŸ˜€

Have a nice day!

INGREDIENTS

Serves 2-3 people

Adapted for vegetarians from the Bon Appetit original recipe

400g Brussels sprouts

1-2 shallots

40g raisins

3-4 New potatoes, boiled (optional)

Β½ cup vegetable broth

25ml olive oil

Salt

Pepper

QUICK INSTRUCTIONS

Add olive oil in a pan and stir the sprouts in. Let them fry, stirring occasionally, until they get brownish spots and are soft. Season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped shallots and raisins. Let cook until the shallots are soft. Add now the boiled potatoes (if you are using any). Pour the vegetable broth, stir, and let simmer until the broth is reduced.

12 thoughts on “Brussels Sprouts with Raisins

  1. Alison

    I love Brussels sprouts! I like the idea of adding in raisins. Also, how exciting that you’re heading to Greece!!! I’m super jealous. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. Villy Post author

      This is actually what they do in the Bon Appetit recipe. But I can’t have bacon at the moment.. I’m sure it will be great!

      Reply
  2. Katie from Katie's Cucina

    Never thought to add raisins to brussel sprouts! Genius idea! must try this recipe asap!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

